Hong Kong Open draws curtain as Tai claims WS title

Hong Kong Open draws curtain as Tai claims WS title

Hong Kong Open draws curtain as Tai claims WS title


YONEX SUNRISE Hong Kong Open rounded off at the Hong Kong Coliseum Sunday night, after crowding five new champions. Hong Kong Badminton Team achieved its best ever results this year, having advanced to the semi-finals for three events (Men’s & Women’s Singles, Mixed Doubles), and Ng Ka-long Angus’s gold in the Men’s Singles is also unprecedented for the Hong Kong team.

There were no shortage of excellent actions throughout the six-day event, Hong Kong representative at the recent Rio Olympics, Angus Ng, outlasted India’s Sameer Verma in the Men’s Singles Final to win his maiden Super Series title.

The Women’s Singles title went to Tai Tzu-ying, the Taiwan native eased to a convincing win over Rio Olympics Women’s Singles silver medalist P.V. Sindhu of India, the victory also boasted Tai’s BWF World Rankings, as the 22-year-old from Kaohsiung dethroned Spain’s Carolina Marin to become the new World No. 1

Japan’s Takeshita Kamura and Sonoda Keigo were crowned the Men’s Doubles Champions. The 26-year-old duo clinched the gold with a two games win (21:19, 21:19) over Danish duo Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen. The Danes were not to be denied a title, though, when Christina Petersen and Kamilla Ritter Juhl combined to claim straight games win over China’s Huang Dongping and Li Yinhui in the Women’s Doubles final. Huang and Li made China’s only appearance in the final at the Hong Kong Open, but were forced to settle for the silver.

In the battle between the Indonesians, Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir were crowned Mixed Doubles Champions after defeating compatriots Praveen Jordan and Debby Susanto.

YONEX SUNRISE Hong Kong Open winners
Men’s Singles: Ng Ka-long Angus (Hong Kong)
Women’s Singles: Tai Tzu-ying (Chinese Taipei)
Men’s Doubles: Takeshita Kamura & Sonoda Keigo (Japan)
Women’s Doubles: Christina Petersen & Kamilla Ritter Juhl (Denmark)
Mixed Doubles: Tontowi Ahmad & Liliyana Natsir (Indonesia)